Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Thinking of buying a 78 wagon

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting, my Uncle who is a subaru buff showed me the light. I am thinking about buying a 1600 four cylinder engine, with a four speed, shiftable four wheel drive wagon with 23,000 original miles. It has had only one owner then a kid bought it and hasn't driven it cause insurance is too high for him. He is asking 1500 but I think I could get him down to 1200. I work at a wilderness camp about 100 miles away. I would need to drive it down and back every other week. Do you all think this would be a good option?

The paint is faded and one of the seats is torn from sun rot but other than that it is supposed to run great. I will test drive it on Saterday, I just wanted to get ya'lls advice before I go look at it.

Thanks

With that few miles, it shouldn't have to be a work horse, but i understand that transportation is transportation. It should treat you right, just make sure that you check your oil regularly, and your CV boots from time to time.

Also that engine has solid lifters, so when the clicking starts to drive you nuts you'll have to adjust it.

Are there any pics of this car?

I'm fearful of 23K.....123K is still pretty low for thesecars, but it's easy to say 23K after the speedo turns over. I've seen NUMEROUS cars with 50 K, 46K, 27K and they all turned out to be turned over. Check carefully!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

100K is alot to lie about, but people think they can get away with it on these older cars with 5 digit speedos.

usually by the condition of the vehicle is the first clue. General Disorder a million years ago, was parting out a '78 wagon that had only like 75,000 miles on it and you could tell since the interior was pretty much immaculate. Lucky me, I got the rear seat and most of the carpet, plus the rear lap belts too...

Are there any pics of this car?