Ultimate Subaru Message Board

New Sube Owner

First would like to say hi to everyone, and to say that I am new to this and bought my first subaru, so i have a lot to learn. Have heard they are very reliable and i needed a cheap good car, imagine that. Its a 1990 Loyale 4wd, 3 speed auto. Now I was wondering is there anything out there to help out the 1.8 performance wise? I know i wasnt getting into a supercar, but would like to do something to help it along its way a little better. See lots of people doing enine swaps, and dont think i am quite ready for that. Also i see alot reading people describing drivetrain like "ea82" or "ej22", "ea81t" what do these

signify or mean? If its possible to explain easily I would appreciate it along with any other info that could help me, and I am excited for the future of my new subaru. Thanks.

Hello Hotdog! I'm north of you in Eugene. As for that auto you have...make sure the fluid is good and well maintaned. These autos are the weakest part of Subaru, but keep it maintaned and you'll be golden.

What some people end up doing with an auto is swapping it out with a manual tranny. It's fairly easy, direct bolt on, and even I can do it.

you just need to know what to get. Which, I've done two...so I have a fairly good idea.

Oh yeah, I know of 4 or so board members that live in medford or the surronding areas.

welcome to the insanity!! :D

personally, would recommend getting rid of the automatic (they are not known for being a great tranny, altho many have had good luck with them with proper maintenance) and swapping in the 5 spd manual - 2 reasons - 1. fewer problems 2. better fuel mileage.

Lots of great info here on how to do it, too, just need to do your homework.

The EA82 is a very reliable, long living motor with the proper care and maintenance - mine currently has 224K and still going strong, & i know there are others with even higher mileages.

Lots of great info on what to do/how to take care of your your new toy.