Ultimate Subaru Message Board

ozzified or do it yourself

i really want a lift and i have been washing freakin dishes to save money to get one:dead: and i was reading a post about a home made lift kit. i was wondering as a novice who knows the very minimal about lifts, should i build my own and get info from guys on the board, or should i just go with ease and simplicity and directions w/a byb lift?

if you want something bad enough, you'll find a way to acomplish it.

delayed gratification will ALWAYS taste sweeter then anything else.

Save up for the BYB Ozified kit. I am a college student who saved for a year to order one, then about that time "I lucked time wise" into a kit that Brian(west coaster) needed a tranny and so I bought the kit off him and gave him a hookup on a fellow members tranny during his wedding planning stages.

Then via time constraints i had to wait over 6 more months till i could find time to install it (not to mention a place to do it at.)

last fall and spring i was 15 credit hours and then 19 credit hours all upper level classes to graduate with the double BA in MAy. So, a few extra dishes for the sanity of a well built kit at around 300 clams? I'd sign the dotted line again when I had the money for a second kit - no doubt.

Tangent for PKDavis300 I came across an extra one so I promise I will find a box to send off these two "core" steering knuckles" your way.... hopefully before All Hallows eve.

thanks for the advice, i was leaning toward the BYB kit. i have the skills necessary to fabricate one, but i'm not sure exactly what parts i will need and all that stuff. the byb lift will give me everything needed, plus instructions. i have only heard of one byb kit failing. this was due to improper installation, so i will feel really comfortable w/the byb. thanks