Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Need help. Trying to revive old subie.

Hi, I'm a noob to this site. Just acquired a older Subaru and need help identifying it so I can start the long restoration process. I have a VIN but i don 't seem to find any info on it anywhere. Any info on where to find info would be much appreciated.

I was told that the car was originally purchased by a local town to be a plow vehicle and has been ever since. It has changed hands various times and now it is here. It only has a little under 61K on it. It will be a project, but with a little time and help it will be a fun car again.

if you do decide to go the sleeper route, i definatly would be interested in that plow, it would go nice on the brat:D i go up to NH every now and then, so let me know. i don`t know if you would be interested, but i have a set of mag rims/tires that would fit your car, and i also have a higher compression ea71 engine, with a weber carb that will boost your horse power by alot. take care,

Jon

i have absolutly no doubt, that car is a ea71, and DL, and its also definatly a 78 or possibly a 79.

I have both a 78 and a 76 DL here. The car in the pic looks more like my 76 (single headlamps, no rack, subaru name on front-drivers-side of hood) than like my 78. Although, my 76 had additional orange lights in the front grille.

1400-front.jpg

Actually, looking at it more, I'd guess it to just be something other than either the 78 and 76 ;)

R

It's a '79 by the 4WD badge on the grill,unless it was changed at some point.

The plow looks like my SnoWay which was what was offered here from Subaru of New England,and maybe other "plow market" regional distributors.

I'd really appreciate any pics of the mounting,especially up on the spare tire deck under the hood.

yeah it looks like a '79 DL wagon just like Paul said, the front "4WD" badge is different then the earlier style "4 Wheel Drive" badge.