Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So the car has done this ever since I got it. Never really worried about it, just thought I see what you guys think.

While the engine is running and the hood is open you hear a loud ticking. You can also hear this with the window down, driving next to a wall. It increases with the rpms. I figured it was just the engine being itself. I am wondering if anyone else has this, and If I should run sea foam thru the top again. Last time I did seafoam was 3-4 months ago

its a 96 2.2l 5spd

Is it an old 2.2 with hydraulic lifters? I have heard a number of them tick a bit from stuck lifters.

Would fnlyfnd be wise to run seafoam in the crankcase just before an oil change? Maybe it would help "clean" some of the channels and passageways?

I'm no expert here so someone else please chime in.

Oh, and cookie--the 2.2s aren't all that old!!!

For Olnick sorry,

I hate to say anything that might disparage a 2.2. For dman, yup that sounds like clutch stuff. On the other hand the clutch sometimes ticks on until it slips.

Some folks say they have had luck cleaning with Seafoam or adding Marvel Mystery oil to free up stuck lifters. I have always dissasembled and replaced the lifter myself. One other thing to remember is that sometimes 2.2s tick when the oil pump gasket leaks because they don't make full pressure. If it were mine I'd check the pressure with a guage to be sure.

I'm in the middle of troubleshooting a tick/knock on my rebuilt 2.2L motor. Took off a valve cover and found a squishy hydraulic lash adjuster.

I tried to bleed it out in a cup of oil. But it just wouldn't hold pressure.

I'll be putting in a replacement lash adjuster this weekend and hope that this changes the tone of the tick/knock.