Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Required VW vintage for Soobie swap

• 2 weeks later...

I too have heard of people doing the swap into older air cooled models, but of course the wasserboxer vanagons are much easier because a coolant system is already in place. Even among the water cooled models, '86 or newer is supposed to be easiest to deal with. As a rule of thumb, I've read that you should stay away from models with round headlights and look for the square ones because they went to square headlights in '86. Keep in mind that I have NO experience with actually doing the swap, but I have been researching it a lot because I'm definitely thinking about it...

I too have heard of people doing the swap into older air cooled models, but of course the wasserboxer vanagons are much easier because a coolant system is already in place. Even among the water cooled models, '86 or newer is supposed to be easiest to deal with. As a rule of thumb, I've read that you should stay away from models with round headlights and look for the square ones because they went to square headlights in '86. Keep in mind that I have NO experience with actually doing the swap, but I have been researching it a lot because I'm definitely thinking about it...

I will kindof agree on the years thing but....

The headlights are cooler in the round because you can get H4 conversions from EMPI that make the rounds way brighter than the 86 and up. $17 each and worth every penny.

The 85 and up starter is more able to handle the 2.2's requirements but thats a 100 dollar item...go to an auto salvage and buy a newer starter.

The relocation of the ECU to under the rear seat starts in 85. Thats a much better place for the Subaru one too. All the same you can put the ECU there in an 84 (I did).