Jump to content


Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, my lurker friend!

Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, an unparalleled Subaru community full of the greatest Subaru gurus and modders on the planet! We offer technical information and discussion about all things Subaru, the best and most popular all wheel drive vehicles ever created.

We offer all this information for free to everyone, even lurkers like you! All we ask in return is that you sign up and give back some of what you get out - without our awesome registered users none of this would be possible! Plus, you get way more great stuff as a member! Lurk to lose, participate to WIN*!
  • Say hello and join the conversation
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Classifieds with all sorts of Subaru goodies
  • Photo hosting in our gallery
  • Meet other cool people with cool cars
Seriously, what are you waiting for? Make your life more fulfilling and join today! You and your Subaru won't regret it, we guarantee** it.

* The joy of participation and being generally awesome constitutes winning
** Not an actual guarantee, but seriously, you probably won't regret it!

Serving the Subaru Community since May 18th, 1998!

Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

Can't find connector


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 26 October 2003 - 07:51 PM

I have a 93 Legacy Wagon and I am trying to run the ECU codes. I am having trouble finding the second black connector. Do I have to remove the ECU?

#2 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,650 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 26 October 2003 - 08:21 PM

you may need to remove the tcu to find the other connectors

http://www.main.expe...ges/ecuhide.jpg

#3 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 26 October 2003 - 08:33 PM

Thank Josh. I am not off of work till Tuesday and will check it out .

#4 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 28 October 2003 - 02:35 PM

Ok I found the connectors. They are on the right side of the steering colomn in my car. After running I came up with 11, 21, 32, 34, and 11. My brother (a chevy mech suggested that I do the battery trick to clear the codes, and go for a drive, then check again.) I come up with just 21. The temp sensor. I went through napa and they gave me a brass colored single pole sensor. Is this the correct one or is it the one next to it with the big connector?

Thanks

#5 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 28 October 2003 - 05:57 PM

bttt

#6 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,650 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 28 October 2003 - 08:34 PM

The single wire sensor is for the gauge.

The two wire sensor is for the ECU, and that's the one you want.

#7 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 28 October 2003 - 09:11 PM

Thanks Josh, I guess I'm back to the store.

You guys have been awsome. I have learned more from you guys then I have the local suby dealership. They could not tell me wich one it was.

Thanks again
Jim

#8 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,650 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 30 October 2003 - 09:10 PM

glad to help......either the dealership is stupid....or just didn't want to help you....

#9 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 18 November 2003 - 07:15 PM

I finally got and replaced the temp sensor and just wanted to let you know alls well and a big thank you to everyone.

#10 alias20035

alias20035

    Subaru Fanatic!

  • Members
  • 357 posts
  • Canada

Posted 18 November 2003 - 07:44 PM

Originally posted by jimscat
I finally got and replaced the temp sensor and just wanted to let you know alls well and a big thank you to everyone.



Reset the ECU (disconnect battery for 15 minute) anytime you change a sensor. The ECU has to "learn" the replacement sensor.

#11 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 18 November 2003 - 07:53 PM

I did not know that. Will go out and do it. Thanks, you guys are awsome

#12 jimscat

jimscat

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Maine

Posted 18 November 2003 - 08:17 PM

ok, cleared the codes and then rechecked. still come up with a 21

#13 Nug

Nug

    Lurker/off-topic poster

  • Members
  • 1,966 posts
  • West Point

Posted 18 November 2003 - 09:25 PM

777... what colors are the two wires? I couldn't tell on one in the pic.

Thanks

#14 paladin_w

paladin_w

    USMB Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Fort Collins,Colorado

Posted 18 November 2003 - 09:26 PM

You may try leaving it disconnected longer than 15 min. I did that and it did not clear my codes, however after about hour and a half it did while I was working on the stereo. You could leave it off overnight and that is a gaurentee.
I have heard one thing on that however, let your car idle for about 10-15 min to let it relearn without pushing on gas or driving it. I have heard of others having problems and have experienced them myself with connecting and getting in for a test drive.

#15 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,650 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 18 November 2003 - 09:47 PM

connect both black & green connectors to clear the codes. Instructions for this method are on my site.


I'm not sure the color of the wire that the connectors are connected to. One is yellow.......how come you want to know?

#16 Nug

Nug

    Lurker/off-topic poster

  • Members
  • 1,966 posts
  • West Point

Posted 18 November 2003 - 10:13 PM

Because I am trying to figure out why the sube engine in the back of my bug won't start, and, well, the connector got hacked off looong ago. Just trying to make sure I have the right wires.

I'm gonna start a new thread, so feel free not to reply.

#17 Legacy777

Legacy777

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 12,650 posts
  • Houston, Tx

Posted 19 November 2003 - 09:23 AM

gotcha.....i'll have to look in my fsm's. What year did you snag the motor and wiring from? do you have the combination meter in there to blink, or have you rigged something up?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users