Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello everyone! I'm brand new to this Subaru thing, I've actually been a GM Truck guy, but was looking for a neat little project car. I came across a 1979 Subaru Station Wagon on Craigslist, and went and checked it out. After a test drive, and lengthy inspection, I decided to pitch out the $750 for it. It's in nice shape for a 79, very minor rusting, faded paint, there's a small coolant leak by the water pump, and the speedo doesn't go over 25mph, but it's a project, I wasn't expecting perfection. It came with a Chilton's, a tow bar, and an extra carb and alternator.

To be honest, I'm a youngin', so carbs aren't my specialty.

It drives very smoothly, and other than a noisy exhaust system, runs quietly also.

I'm an extreme noob when it comes to Subarus, I almost bought an 88 GL 4WD Wagon a couple years ago, but decided against it. That's about all the experience I have.

I'm a frequent visitor over at the Astro/Safari Forums, as I have a 95 Astro and an 87 Safari.

I hope to be here a while, and hope to learn lots and lots from you guys, as this looks like a nicely organized forum!

Thanks in advance for any help I receive!

-Michael

This is scary, look how much we have in common...

- My name's Michael

- I too just bought a 79 wagon

- Mine also has minor rusting, faded paint, and a malfunctioning speedo

- I'm kinda a youngin who also doesn't have any experience with carbs

:lol:

At least yours is running though, mine has an electrical issue with the fuel pump and a bad tranny bearing :(

I have 3 other Subarus though, so I draw off some experience.

Welcome to the board though, you'll like it here, I'm already finding the historic guys VERY helpful!

welcome aboard Astro

pics are a must:D is your 79 4wd? my aunt lives in houston, and she has a few old wagons too.....