Ultimate Subaru Message Board

84 manual trans rebuild kits and performance engine building

Is there any kits out there to rebuild the 4spd in my 84 brat......My prob is the reverse is totaly gone.. you put it in relese the clutch and it grinds, sometimes gets stuck in reverse also but no actual gear ingagment.....I have not the money to have a person rebuild it and i have rebuilt manuals in the past so i am sure i can do this......Also what is the name of the tranny in these things

BTW im taken high-performance engines at wyotech and im builden a ea81 what should i do to it.....i wana punch it and stroke it but i dont know if its possable.....im pretty new to the sooby world how bout duel delortos from a VeWe:headbang:

I've only heard one person talking about spinning the sleeves. I am not doubting that it happened to him/her, However, I know of someone who bored their EA81 60 over with no problems for the 2-3 years they owned it thereafter. I would do it. I want to do it if I ever get around to playing with my spare engine. My $.02 Boz

Do believe that .050 over is as big as you can go on pistons. Someone stated that here on the board.

Would tend to believe that if the sleeve spun in the bore during a re-bore, the machine shop operator was trying to make to much of a cut at one time. I've had sleeved engines re-bored before, with no problems.

As to your tranny problem. One wonders if maybe your shifter would be more at fault than the tranny. These things tend to get sloppy shifters with higher mileage.

yes if you spin a bore it is because you are trying to take to much off or your bit is dull.....worked in a machine shop in my hometown and did many engines. I want to stay carbed and was wondering if a 2.0 or 2.2 block would be better for boring/stroking....I know i know no replacement for displacement but i would like to keep the 1800 block so it looks stock sorda......