Ultimate Subaru Message Board

4EAT transmission question

Hello all. I have a quick, and possibly stupid question concerning the 4EAT automatic transmission in my 95 Impreza WRX wagon. I am a noob with the automatic transmissions in Subarus so please, I beg of you to bear with me. I know where the transmission fluid dipstick is, but my question is this, what is the dipstick on the left-hand side of the transmission for? The reason that I ask is that it seems to be stuck and I cannot remove it. If anyone could please shed some light on this subject, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thank You all for your time.

Patrick

Hello all. I have a quick, and possibly stupid question concerning the 4EAT automatic transmission in my 95 Impreza WRX wagon. I am a noob with the automatic transmissions in Subarus so please, I beg of you to bear with me. I know where the transmission fluid dipstick is, but my question is this, what is the dipstick on the left-hand side of the transmission for? The reason that I ask is that it seems to be stuck and I cannot remove it. If anyone could please shed some light on this subject, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thank You all for your time.

Patrick

One dipstick is for the ATF, one dipstick is for the gear oil for the front differential.

Nathan