Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello all, I have a strut installation question. I’m getting ready to install four preassembled KYB G2 struts on my 1995 Impreza, and, since I’ve never done this before, I have a brake line question. Will I need to disconnect the brake lines from the brake hoses to install these struts?

I'm using a Subaru repair manual, and there is no mention of this being necessary to install the struts.

When I was under the car the other day, it looks like I have no other choice.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

:D

yes, or cut a slit in the hose mount on the strut. The line comes off easily, and the bleed is easy too (you've already got good access with the wheels off.

All in all it took me 4.5 hours including the drive to the mechanic to have the springs moved to the new struts.

Be sure to mark the suspension-setting nuts precisely.

Also, be sure to use strong tools; 1/2 drive socket set is mandatory, air wrench or breaker bar is mandatory for removal, preferably a 6 point socket (not 12).

Mike

Thanks for the help Mike. I think I’ll take your suggestion, and I’ll remove the brake lines. I’ll head over to Sears, and pick up some line wrenches and a set of six point ½ inch metric sockets. I guess I can leave the brake calibers on the vehicle since I’m removing the brake lines.

On another note, how hard is it to bleed this brake system. The last brake system I bled was in a 1966 Mustang.

:D

The new Subaru's brake lines are bolted to the strut, and do not pass through the hanger, this is much better!

Some added tips

Spray the lower strut bolts with "Break Free" or other penetrant lubricant the day before you do this work. Makes this job a little easier.