Ultimate Subaru Message Board

gearing it up

I have a 1980 brat, 1600, single range 4wd, and I top out at 85. I want to get a little more out of it than that. I think i have 3.90 gears, but am not sure. I can get my hands on a 3.70 rear diff. i think but would it work if I took out the front axels, and ran it in 4wd, making it rwd? What gears did subaru make?

~thax, James~

Top out at 85 because your engine is at redline, or top out at 85 below redline, but the car can't go any faster?

If it's the former, then you could MAYBE go for higher gearing. Does your 1600 have the starter on top or the driver's side? If it's the top, then you'll have a LOT of work ahead of you to make an EA81/82 tranny work. If the starter is on the driver's side, then a tranny swap might be easier.

I'm still learning my Gen1 cars, so I dunno if maybe Subaru changed to the later tranny for all cars in 1980 or just the new Gen2's.

Now... if it's the latter, then sorry, but that's as fast as your car can go. Putting taller gearing in it could actually make it SLOWER because the engine will have to work harder to maintain that same speed.

My Legacy, for instance, can do 112 mph, just like all the magazines said it could. Not because it's bouncing off the rev limiter (it's sitting around 5k at that speed) but because that's all it's got. It's using all its 130hp to approach and maintain that speed.

If you wanted speed and horsepower, you shouldn't have bought a Brat in the first place ;)