Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Need Advice on 01 Legacy Head Gasket

I just brought my 2001 Legacy L in for a timing belt change. It is at 102K miles and it is recommended for 105K. I was quoted $400 for the timing belt, water pump, and thermostat. I have never used this place before but they only do subarus and have a pretty nice shop. When I called to ask if they were finished and when I could pick up the car they told me there were other problems they found while working on it. They said the oil pump was leaking and the left cylinder head was leaking. He told me it would be an additional $50 for the oil pump and an additional $1000-$1200 for the head gaskets. I have never see a drop of fluid in my driveway and never had any issues with overheating or anything. Is the fix worth it? Is he taking me for a ride? I thought head gasket issues with the 2.5 were fixed in the SOHC versions after 2000. The guy told me there were issues up to 2003 and that he would use the new material head gasket from subaru that should last the life of the car.