Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA82T not starting/cranking

It's an 1987 GL-10 3spd push button 4wd auto with an EA-82T. Bought it a couple of months ago, and have been using it as a daily driver. My low oil light came on a couple days ago, and (stupid me) I chose to ignore it til this weekend. On the way to work yesterday, it started hesitating, made a few odd noises, and then stalled, all in about 100 yards. I coasted into a parking lot and tried to restart her, but it was no use. She wouldn't even turn over. Got a ride to work and towed her home that evening.

Now she is in the garage where I can take a look at her. I am not a mechanic, and I realize its kind of hard to do, but I think I may have seized up the engine. The starter engaged once, but it was the grinding sound you get when you try and start a car that's already running. Now she won't turn over at all, and there is a loud THWACK when I turn the key. I don't know if it's the solenoid working, or if the starter is trying to turn and hitting something and stopping. Can I take the starter out and see if it works out of the engine? I tried turning the crank by hand (with a socket and breaker bar) but it won't budge. I took the plugs out, hoping that might help (should it?) but that didn't make any difference.

Any thoughts? Any questions?

Engine is siezed :dead:

That'll teach you to pay attention to warning lights.

Also the oil lamp isn't a "low" warning, it's a low oil PRESSURE warning. Your pressure dropped to a dangerous level (digi-dash huh?), and you probably seized the rings in a cylinder. It's dead, and even a complete tear down probably won't save it. Once the mechanical damage is severe enough to stop the engine from rotating, it's a crispy critter.

GD