Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hello,

I wanted to do a basic tuneup on our recently aquired '98 OBW 2.5L and wanted to start with plugs and wires. I got aftermarket wires, but skipped getting plugs for now. The parts store wanted $10 per plug for "laser" platinum OEM style (I think the p/n was PFR5B-11)! Single platinum plugs were under $2 each. Not even Bosch +4's cost as much as the "stock" plug. Did I just happen to find a parts store who thinks their plugs are made of solid gold? I've been working on cars (toyota mainly) for 15 years, but never ever saw a plug costing $10 (not even on Land Rovers).

After doing some searching, it appears many people recommend sticking with this expensive plug since it is designed to last longer than a standard copper plug and the plugs are a bit difficult to change (can't be as hard as other vehicleds I've done!). Other people seem to recommend the v-grooves or other NGK's, but I think I will just bite the bullet and get the OEM lasers. I always use NGK's on my Toyota's, and it appears that NGK is the way to go with subi's too. Bosch +4's suck! I know that much. I tried them in a '99 land rover that had otherwise been driving just fine, and immediately after the +4's it started spewing engine misfire OBDII codes and ran so badly it couldn't get out of it's own way.

So, I guess I answered my own question!:rolleyes:

I currently have the NGK v-groove's (copper) in my OBW, ran NGK's g-power's (platinum) previously. Both seem about the same. I ran the g-powers about 40, 45k or so and they were in very good shape when i pulled them.

G-powers were cheap, maybe 4 bucks a plug. Might be worth a look as an alternative to the lasers. I picked them up at NAPA.

Well, I ended up buying the OEM laser platinum plugs. I had bought aftermarket wires, but I opted to return them and bought OEM wires at the dealer. The boots are a little too fancy to hope an aftermarket brand got it right.