Ultimate Subaru Message Board

1988 GL Wagon 4WD Issues

Hello all,

I am a newbie, so if this topic has been discussed elsewhere, I'd appreciate it if you could point me in the right direction. I did some browsing but didn't find anything.

--

Anyhow, I have an '88 GL with 174k miles. It is running fine now, in 2WD. The snow is piling up and I want to be able to use 4WD - HI. I have tried to put it into 4WD mode with the car on a flat surface, engine running, in neutral, stopped. (Should I be using the clutch?) The dash acknowledges the change and shows me it is in 4WD. However, once I start moving, I hear all sorts of bad noises and feel some resistance driving. This was not encouraging, so I put the car back into 2WD. It was difficult to get it back into 2WD, and required me to put it into 4, then 2, and back a few times.

I got the car used, and I'm assuming 4WD was just not used for a long time, and that the parts are not lubricated, or something like this. Is this a common problem? Should I just stay in 2WD forever? If I run it in 4 for a mile or so will this go away (I'm a bit afraid to try this)? What should I do?

As a note, the transmission fluid was checked recently and was clean and full. Is there a separate fluid I should be checking?

Thanks,

_S

I don't think that the subaru can loose lubrication when in 2wd. Unlike most 4wd's, the rear (equivalent to the front in most 4wds) driveline and differential still turn all the time -- no freewheeling hubs, so it would stay lubricated.