Jump to content


Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, my lurker friend!

Welcome to Ultimate Subaru Message Board, an unparalleled Subaru community full of the greatest Subaru gurus and modders on the planet! We offer technical information and discussion about all things Subaru, the best and most popular all wheel drive vehicles ever created.

We offer all this information for free to everyone, even lurkers like you! All we ask in return is that you sign up and give back some of what you get out - without our awesome registered users none of this would be possible! Plus, you get way more great stuff as a member! Lurk to lose, participate to WIN*!
  • Say hello and join the conversation
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Classifieds with all sorts of Subaru goodies
  • Photo hosting in our gallery
  • Meet other cool people with cool cars
Seriously, what are you waiting for? Make your life more fulfilling and join today! You and your Subaru won't regret it, we guarantee** it.

* The joy of participation and being generally awesome constitutes winning
** Not an actual guarantee, but seriously, you probably won't regret it!

Serving the Subaru Community since May 18th, 1998!

Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo
- - - - -

New bling for the RX, but with function


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,105 posts
  • WA

Posted 22 February 2007 - 01:18 AM

I got the gauges and a-pillar pod on Ebay back around X-Mas time. Boost gauge, temp gauge and oil pressure gauge. I finally got around to installing them. I need to line them up a little better and install the correct sender for the water temp, but in all....I like!:headbang:
The gauges have 7 different colors to choose from:-p And when the car is off, the gauges are dark. Not the best pics, I was in a hurry:rolleyes:
Posted Image
Posted Image

#2 daeron

daeron

    Cunning Linguist

  • Members
  • 3,600 posts
  • West Palm Beach

Posted 22 February 2007 - 02:25 AM

Looks nice!!

minor threadjack..

I am SERIOUSLY not a fan of gauge pods (but that looks great) so my big question has always been, would it be possible to butcher the original gauge cluster, and jam aftermarket oil pressure and water temp gauges in there???

I ask because, seriously.. wouldnt you REALLY like to put an air/fuel ratio gauge (I call 'em stoichiometers) and maybe, oh say an oil temp gauge there? or fuel pressure?

I've always wondered this (always == the last year or so) so I figured I would take the opportunity to ask. I agree with the desire to have good gauges in there for all this, so I am not trying to dis your functional bling.. I just personally would rather avoid the bling, since my car is like, anti-bling.... (rust!)

#3 Phizinza

Phizinza

    Yip yip

  • Members
  • 3,867 posts
  • South Australia

Posted 22 February 2007 - 03:18 AM

bling, but with function

Is there such a thing? Surely once it has a funtion it can't be bling anymore.

Looks nice, not to intrusive in visibility too.

#4 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,105 posts
  • WA

Posted 22 February 2007 - 03:53 AM

Looks nice!!

minor threadjack..

I am SERIOUSLY not a fan of gauge pods (but that looks great) so my big question has always been, would it be possible to butcher the original gauge cluster, and jam aftermarket oil pressure and water temp gauges in there???

I ask because, seriously.. wouldnt you REALLY like to put an air/fuel ratio gauge (I call 'em stoichiometers) and maybe, oh say an oil temp gauge there? or fuel pressure?

I've always wondered this (always == the last year or so) so I figured I would take the opportunity to ask. I agree with the desire to have good gauges in there for all this, so I am not trying to dis your functional bling.. I just personally would rather avoid the bling, since my car is like, anti-bling.... (rust!)


I was looking at the original gauges wondering how to block them off. But now that you bring up the A/F gauge, which was my next procurement, that sounds like a idea. I have a panel I could experiment with.

#5 Numbchux

Numbchux

    EJ conversion addict

  • Members
  • 5,985 posts
  • Duluth, MN

Posted 22 February 2007 - 04:00 AM

I am SERIOUSLY not a fan of gauge pods (but that looks great) so my big question has always been, would it be possible to butcher the original gauge cluster, and jam aftermarket oil pressure and water temp gauges in there???


I've been thinking about getting a small dual gauge panel and mounting it in front of the existing temp and oil gauges.

Something like this:
http://www.jcwhitney...0010337/c-10101


nice work Turbone!


I've also thought about cutting holes in the dash next to the clock....

#6 daeron

daeron

    Cunning Linguist

  • Members
  • 3,600 posts
  • West Palm Beach

Posted 22 February 2007 - 07:17 AM

I've been thinking about getting a small dual gauge panel and mounting it in front of the existing temp and oil gauges.

Something like this:
http://www.jcwhitney...0010337/c-10101

nice work Turbone!


Thats an interesting point, simply install a small gauge pod IN FRONT of the two offensive stock gauges... I kinda overthunk that one, although full integration into the factory pod might still be doable, and would definitely look cleaner.

Now if someone else winds up going and doing this, I am gonna want nice pretty high res pictures.. but its gonna make me uber-jealous...

#7 Durania

Durania

    Elite Master of the Subaru

  • Members
  • 3,113 posts
  • Crossville, TN

Posted 22 February 2007 - 09:10 AM

Least you got the boost gauge to back it up.

#8 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,105 posts
  • WA

Posted 22 February 2007 - 10:26 AM

Anything external will have wiring exposed and if you hack up your dash, well its that way forever.
Alot of the gauges are 2" and should fit in the area of the originals. I have a hole saw thats 2" and a old gauge cluster. I think some expermintation is in order.

#9 daeron

daeron

    Cunning Linguist

  • Members
  • 3,600 posts
  • West Palm Beach

Posted 22 February 2007 - 10:54 AM

Anything external will have wiring exposed and if you hack up your dash, well its that way forever.
Alot of the gauges are 2" and should fit in the area of the originals. I have a hole saw thats 2" and a old gauge cluster. I think some expermintation is in order.



Thank you, even if you do not post the photos elsewhere, I would appreciate an email with them... I have wondered this much, and if it works it also greatly simplifies the elimination of the digidash, because you could also simply install "real" gauges in place of the stock ones for everything but the speedo, the tach, and the fuel gauge...

#10 Zebisko

Zebisko

    USMB is life!

  • Members
  • 151 posts
  • Merrillville

Posted 22 February 2007 - 04:29 PM

Sorry to thread-jack, but is there any a-pillar pods for EA-81s? I'd like to install real gauges soon enough.

#11 jeffast

jeffast

    f*** im 24

  • Members
  • 2,029 posts
  • midwestren

Posted 22 February 2007 - 04:36 PM

Is there such a thing? Surely once it has a funtion it can't be bling anymore.

that is not bling has no function. those kick rump roast

#12 baccaruda

baccaruda

    YOUR FAVORITE MOD

  • Moderator
  • 6,941 posts
  • SpoVegas, WA

Posted 22 February 2007 - 05:53 PM

You could put aftermarket gauges in the actual original dash.. either get gauges small enough to fit around stuff, or if you're replacing stock oil/temp/etc sensors with aftermarket, you could chop out the originals and replace them..

#13 Subarutex

Subarutex

    Oldschool Show Queen

  • Moderator
  • 2,531 posts
  • Mountlake Terrace

Posted 22 February 2007 - 08:09 PM

What A-Pillar and what guages? Those look good!

I'm running a Megan Boost Gauge in an AutoMeter Gauge Cup mounted to the stock A-Pillar. The wiring and vaccuum line is wrapped with this trick looming, looks very nice.

#14 Hondasucks

Hondasucks

    Subaru Technician

  • Members
  • 4,760 posts
  • Vancouver, WA

Posted 22 February 2007 - 08:55 PM

I am SERIOUSLY not a fan of gauge pods (but that looks great) so my big question has always been, would it be possible to butcher the original gauge cluster, and jam aftermarket oil pressure and water temp gauges in there???


You can get aftermarket speedometers and such from Autometer, I've thought about just making a panel that fits where the old gauge cluster would mount, and cutting holes for various gauges, possibly even the bad rump roast Dakota Digital gauges ($$$) but I've always had other things I've needed to spend a crapload of money on so it's never gone anywhere lol but if there were a market for it, it'd be fairly easy to make once you got a panel worked out that would fit...

#15 Turbone

Turbone

    The Original Rob

  • Moderator
  • 12,105 posts
  • WA

Posted 23 February 2007 - 12:51 AM

Here you go, take your pick:-p
http://www.jcwhitney...0006309/c-10102

Heres the Ebay store I got the pod and gauges from.
http://stores.ebay.c...LOWSHIFT-GAUGES




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users