Ultimate Subaru Message Board

EA81/EA82 Engine Tranny question.

I just bought an 84 GL wagon 4x4 that I have up and running (sort of) The tranny has a lot of trouble shifting into reverse. Mostly it wants to just grind. The guy I bought it from had swapped an EA82 engine into it and it runs fine. I bought a low miles GL-10 parts car with an EA81 Engine and Tranny that I may put into my GL. I'm new to deeper workings of Subarus. So can anyone tell me how to check whether I have an EA81 or EA82 generation trans in my GL (If the trannies even changed between the generations) and what would be the best bet in swapping or not swapping trannies in the GL. Thanks

Matt

It's the 4 speed. Thankfully, the GL-10 is a 4 speed as well. My only other question is, if there would be any difference to work with since the GL-10 is front wheel drive and the wagon is a 4x4?Would it still be a direct swap?

I just bought an 84 GL wagon 4x4 that I have up and running (sort of) The tranny has a lot of trouble shifting into reverse. Mostly it wants to just grind. The guy I bought it from had swapped an EA82 engine into it and it runs fine. I bought a low miles GL-10 parts car with an EA81 Engine and Tranny that I may put into my GL. I'm new to deeper workings of Subarus. So can anyone tell me how to check whether I have an EA81 or EA82 generation trans in my GL (If the trannies even changed between the generations) and what would be the best bet in swapping or not swapping trannies in the GL. Thanks

Matt

Before you do anything drastic like change a transmission do one thing FIRST! If it's not shifting smoothly into reverse because of what feels like slop in the shifter and you just can't seem to find reverse without it grinding then try this: If, when the engine is not running, the trans seems to shift ok, but when the engine is running it's slop city and grindarama then do this: