Ultimate Subaru Message Board

I could use some help deciding...

Hey guys,

I am a college student looking to purchase my first car...a subaru outback. The decision is between a limited 1997 outback and a standard 1999 outback.

The 1999 has the cold weather package, a six disc changer and a warranty that will last another year...the limited's warranty has expired and is otherwise. They both have about 70000 miles, and are both priced around 10500.

I haven't test-driven them yet, but I plan to this week...considering they are in the same condition, which would be the better purchase? I am new to this whole outback thing, and I'd really appreciate some advice on this one. Is it better to buy the newer model? I expect that in the end the 99 may be around $500 more expensive, but that is fine with me..

Thanks a lot guys...I appreciate any advice!

Robert

Reading the harrowing tales I've read on this board, I would look into the engines in both cars. If the 97 is a DOHC EJ25 'Phase I', which I'm pretty sure it is, run away. Those are the infamous head-gasket blowers. If the 99 is a SOHC EJ25 'Phase II', again which I'm pretty sure it is, then you're much better off with this one than the 97.

Other than that, everything should be alright... Trust me, you will find the value of owning a Subaru for college. My personal opinion is that there's no better car for a college student.

Originally posted by subyluvr2212

Reading the harrowing tales I've read on this board, I would look into the engines in both cars. If the 97 is a DOHC EJ25 'Phase I', which I'm pretty sure it is, run away. Those are the infamous head-gasket blowers. If the 99 is a SOHC EJ25 'Phase II', again which I'm pretty sure it is, then you're much better off with this one than the 97.

Other than that, everything should be alright... Trust me, you will find the value of owning a Subaru for college. My personal opinion is that there's no better car for a college student.