The mysterious Legacy from 'ell - very long story

Fill yer mug with your favorite brew,

sit back

and read this long winded tale of Woe.

As you can see by my number of posts I am not

new to the Su Bar of Ru.

Having owned dozens and currently have models

ranging from

gen 1 Brats, turbo Legs through a 6cyl VDC.

I do all my own maintenance / repair work.

I am by no means an expert but on the same page

know which end of a ratchet clicks.

Another member here (davebugs) needed an AWD sedan for his GF's son.

Being an auction frequent, he found a likely candidate in the form

of a 94 Legacy 2.2 auto. Two owner car with only 66 Kmi.

Dave drove the car for some 350 trouble free miles before we started work.

PLEASE remember this.

Topside rust -not bad

Floor pans underside ect - very nice!!

(Dave has a lift in his shop so we got up close and personal when he brought the car home.)

BUT - ya knew there had to be a BUT....

The entire non undercoated bits ->

all suspension pieces, all exposed bolt heads, exhaust, brakes

Looked like the car had been sprayed continually with brackish saltwater.!!!

Case in point - lower control arm rotted through in sections as large as the palm of my hand!!

Oil pan rusted on the exterior to the point a screw driver easily punched through.

Bolt heads that normally require a 14 mm socket (once the rust was chiseled off) would accept

a 7/16" socket - yes 7/16" - that folks is real close to an 11 mm socket!!

Long story longer.

Dave wanted the car to be reliable (kid's first car and he lives in the PA snowbelt),

Needing an oil pan, timing belts ect. we set forth and "yank da lump".

Aside from the aforementioned bolt heads and the block oxidation welded to the tranny , all went well.

Used a small bead of RTV on the replacement oil pan, knowing the problems too much goo could yield.

Same with the rear breather plate.

Timing belt and one idler pulley - no problem..