Ultimate Subaru Message Board

72k too late for synthetic oil?

I've heard some people say that it's not a good idea to change to synthetic oil after too many miles... well I've got 72,000... not sure if this mythical mileage limit applies to my 2000 Legacy GT...

what are your thoughts?

and if I switch are there specific steps I should take to transition over?

also, what's your reccommendation for brand/type of oil and filter?

I'm a pretty hard driver... I'd like a balance of protection and performance...

I think that is a myth.

I switched our outback from Pennzoil to Mobil 1 around 70k. It leaks/burns some oil, but it seems like all of my cars leak/burn oil. All cars will eventually leak oil, especially Subarus.

Most of the oil geeks at http://www.bobistheoilguy.com recommend using AutoRX to clean the old junk out before switching to synthetic. Don't use a solvent based cleaner that cleans in 5 minutes, bad idea.

I prefer Amsoil. It is a good oil. Mobil 1 is a good oil too, but I think it is too thin. Amsoil is a bit hard to get, but if you buy the preferred customer membership and order a bunch via the internet the cost is slightly more than Mobil 1.

I use the Amsoil oil filters. They are a good filter. Napa Gold and OEM (Purolator IIRC) would be my other choices.

Motul is really good stuff too (thought not as cheap as the Mobil 1). Plus last I heard Motul is what the SWRT Rally cars run (or at least they have those decals on the car...lol).

In fact, I'm currently running Motul in almost all the systems on my 99 2.5RS (except the Motul coolant...that stuff is too expensive...lol). I've got Gear 300 in the tranny (and will also be putting it in the rear diff next time I change it), Synergie 6100 10W40 in the motor, and RBF 600 in the brake system.

I currently get my Motul products from Teague's Auto (also known as Boxer4Racing):

http://www.boxer4racing.com