Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Dual Belt Pulleys??

OK, so I've finally got my '88 DL 5spd wagon back to running condition. I have to make a 30 mile trip into town to get it inspected prior to licensing it. Question is this. I currently have 1 belt on it, that belt runs PS, ALT, AC, and Waterpump. I know I can get a second belt for it from the shop that I'm going to tomorrow but do we reckon it'll be OK to run with just 1 belt for the trip into town?

Mine has the AC between the PS and Alt. Without the second belt the AC will not run because the pulley slips too much and the system disengages the compressor clutch. Everything else works fine.

Some engines have the accessories arranged differently, I have no personal experience with that setup.

Having the 2 belts more evenly distributes the pressure on the bearings. Therefore, only using 1 belt will prematurly wear water pump bearing and the like. Yes, it will run that way for a long time. However, it's cheap insurance to get both belts running on there when you can.

Not true. One belt or two won't make any difference to the bearings. The reason for the two belts is for the A/C compressor.

Andy

Having the 2 belts more evenly distributes the pressure on the bearings. Therefore, only using 1 belt will prematurly wear water pump bearing and the like. Yes, it will run that way for a long time. However, it's cheap insurance to get both belts running on there when you can.

Two belts is not for insurance - if one breaks the chances are good that it will slip under the good belt and either snap it as well, or pop it off the pulley.

It was designed with two belts entirely based on power transfer needs. These are type "A" classical industrial V belts. Individually they have a power transfer of around 2 to 3 HP at around 1000 RPM. A single belt is not sufficient to drive the AC compressor, Power steering pump, and Alternator according to standard v-belt power transfer guidelines.