Ultimate Subaru Message Board

newbie needs swap advice

hardhatz

I know I am running the risk of being shot at sunrise.. I beg your indulgence. I have an old Saab I wish to re-power. I have decided Subaru power would be the best, but I have little knowledge of the various models, so I humbly ask you Gurus to help me with some advice about which year & model motors are best picks, which to avoid, and pitfalls to watch out for.

I'd like about 100 HP. A pushrod motor would fall right in, an OHC would take a bit of cutting. Carbureted, EFI, or Turbo all considered, pros & cons sought. I will look for a used motor. Great horsepower is not a priority, just economy & reliability. I want tall gearing, as I have just 1800 lbs to move, and I drive a lot of freeway. I will want A/C.

I will need gearbox advice too. I would consider 5 speed or auto, but I have very little room for the transmission. I would like to have the option of adding Rwd later. Are there Subaru transmissions that will let me drive without the rear driveline in place?

Thanks in advance, can't wait to do this thing!

I know I am running the risk of being shot at sunrise.. I beg your indulgence. I have an old Saab I wish to re-power. I have decided Subaru power would be the best, but I have little knowledge of the various models, so I humbly ask you Gurus to help me with some advice about which year & model motors are best picks, which to avoid, and pitfalls to watch out for.

Nahh.. there are soob powered bugs, soob powered boats, soob powered hovercrafts, soob powered VW buses why not a soob powered Saab. I would suggest the name saabaru, but that’s already taken for the 9-2x.