Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Gen 1 brat

First I want to say thanks to Skip for the help. I am a newbie here and just picked up a 79 brat for $300! Can't wait to get it home! My question is how can I find info on my vin# ? The guy said the vin# is on the drivers side door. I asked him this because I didn't see one on the dash. It has a hard plastic dash cover on it and the cover has a slot in it for the plate to show thru. Anyways, this # i got is kinda weird it starts "A69L-" So...

1- Is this true about the vin location?

2- Is this series of #'s I found the ones I'm looking for?

3- How do I decipher it?

Thanks

so its not on the dash , like, under the insp sticker spot near the winshield, but on the firewall on gen2 and ea82. Thanks Miles.

What do ya'll think about this:

1980 wagon runs good plus parts car.$400

this is all i know. About 1 hr away, would anyone be interested in any parts?

Yeah, after digging thru posts for hours last night i found out that at least the"A69" part was prob right, but still not definate! What kinda trouble could this spell for me if the vin is missing off the dash(assuming it is suppose to be there.) This may not be the original dash , prob never know for sure on that. Is it legal?

If it isn't the orig dash is it normal to take the tag off since it wont match the door(which could be replaced as well.) I guess the only way to know 4 sure is to get it from the firewall.

ok, so i found that the 79 brat has the vin # on DRIVERS side firewall.luckily it matches the one on the drivers side door of mine since the one on the dash is gone. still looking for that decoder . will post when i find more info