Ultimate Subaru Message Board

99 Legacy OBW.

My subie needs new brakes.

Is there a do-it-yourself guide that someone can point me to?

Are there any gotchas I should worry about? Special tools I would need?

Seems like it should be simple, right?

Steps:

Jack up a corner and stabilize the car.

Remove tire

Remove caliper

Remove Rotor

Put on new rotor

put new pads in caliper

put on caliper

put on tire

Repeat for 3 other corners.

Sound reasonable?

I've never done this before, the first shop I called wanted $500 per axle to do brakes. I figure I should be able to get 4 rotors and 8 pads for about $250-300. Does that sound right? Where do you get them?

Thanks in advance.

You got it, fairly straight forward but would recommend buying a manual for the information, although you can find most info on this site. Now for the gotchas:

1) Rotors have a tendency to become one with the hub, especially in the north where they salt the roads. Most rotors have two threaded holes in the “hat” of the rotor; you can use those holes to thread in 8mm bolts to force them off.

2) The two bolts that hold the caliper mount also have a tendency to rust bind in the backing plate. Lots of penetrating oil will help this.

From there, I would highly recommend replacing your brake fluid as long as you’re at it.

Now I have attached the brake service procedure (front/rear) from the FSM for my ’97, your ’99 should be very similar if not the same.

are you sure you need new rotors?

if you don't have vibration when braking (warped rotors), i would recommend considering keeping your rotors. if they are madly damaged or gouged and shedding metal that's one thing, but this GREATLY simplifies the job and works just fine. to replace the rotors you need to remove the caliper and bracket, not just the caliper.

if the rotors have worked fine for the past year and stop fine, your braking will only be better if you get new pads. i recommend ceramics.