Ultimate Subaru Message Board

95 Legecy, 235 000 km, Auto, binding on slow turns also like a rattle on take off and turns, clunking from drive to park, when switch off engine slight roll even with hand break up then next time i turn on engine PWR light flashes about 16 or so times. Had oil flushed was ok for a couple of weeks then same thing. One guy told me need to reco trans another says he can get some good oil and it will stop another says he will change my solenoids, im not good with cars its doing my head in :confused:

PLEASE give me advise, Thanks

No needs to go to a dealership to get the codes, there is a process here (why pay the money). If you do go dont tell them to just pull the codes, Tell them your symptons and let them make a diagnoses (sometimes for that they wont charge).

Or you can go by what i have to say.

You have torque bind. You have all the classic symptons. No oil elixer is going to fix it. The flashing tranny light is going to come back as a failed duty C solenoid.

Depending upon how long its been doing this, it wont pay to just replcae the solenoid, instead rebuild the entire system (but then again i am always amazed at how expensive things are in canada). You have less then 200,000 miles on the car, so a repair is doable, Over 200,000 or 800.00 US in repairs i would say look for a used a tranny.

DO NOT go to a tranny shop unless you want a new tranny.

nipper

put the FWD fuse in the FWD holder in the engine bay and let us know if it goes away.

replacing the duty C and/or clutches in the rear extension housing can be done without even taking the trans out of the car, so it's much cheaper than typical trans work or a rebuild.

has the fluid ever been changed and do all the tires match?

put the FWD fuse in the FWD holder in the engine bay and let us know if it goes away.