Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Changing spark plugs on my 95 Legacy

This is a follow up to my earlier thread about my 95 Legacy FWD with 205K running rough:

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96568

First, if anyone has followed that thread, let me say that this morning I am returning the aftermarket wires and Bosch plugs. I will be exchanging the plugs for NGKs, and going to a local dealer to buy the OEM wires.

Now, although I am a total amateur when it comes to auto repair, I have in my lifetime replaced spark plugs. But, after googling a bit and reading about some issues, I'm a little concerned about whether it might be wiser to let a real shop do this. I don't have a torque wrench, just a craftsman rachet, spark plug socket and 3" extension bar. Also, I've read that there could be issues in removing spark plugs that have not been changed in a LONG time from aluminum block engines. It's possible that the old plugs have been in there for a REAL LONG time (I'm ashamed to say how long!). Also, there is mention of using anti-seize compound on the new plugs, however I couldn't find out by googling whether that advice is correct for this particular engine.

As I said, I've done this before, at least a few times, on my two previous Legacys ('90 and '92), and maybe I just got lucky; I think I just tightened the plugs until I felt the gasket start to crush, then torqued it a bit more until I started feeling some real resistance, then stopped. I suppose I could buy a torque wrench and it would cost me less than what a shop would charge to change the plugs & wires, so that might be an option. Another complicating factor is that I would be doing this job in 35 degree weather :( (which is better than if I tried it yesterday in 17 degree weather!!).

As always, thanks to the experts here for their guidance!!