Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Rally racing

I have a 1989 subaru GL hatchback with a carb and I want to rally race the car and I was wondering if a WRX engine will fit in the car because I hate the carb and want fuel injecton and a turbo, bigger more powerful engine since I took it to a shop to get the cylinders bored out and the heads port and polished and the shop laughed at me saying "its a wast of time and money to bore out and port and polish the engine for rally racing just go out and buy a WRX" then I told them I couldn't afford a WRX cuz im a college student and can't afford it.

Also if anyone rally races what would be the way to modify the car for rally racing.

Be careful, there are people out there that are selling engines that they call WRX engines but are actually from a Legacy RS from Japan. Although they look similar, they are not the same, although some parts interchange.

Next, do you mean Hatchback or 3dr, the Hatchback looks like a short 2dr station wagon, the 3dr has a fast back sloping rear door with a large glass area.

The conversion can be done to either type of car, but it is not cheap, and I wouldn't think that it could be done on a students budget. A real WRX engine can start at about $5,000.00 and go up from there, add a few thousand more for the tranny, and a couple of hundred for the rear differential and you have bought the basic parts for the conversion. If you don't get a complete from wiring harness and ECU, then you will have to go aftermarket, those cost over $1,000.00. So, now before you have even put anything into the car, you'll have spent almost $8,000.00. I would think, having done something similar that you'd spend at least another $2,000.00, in in all you are looking at $10,000 and for that price you could pick up a 98 Impreza RS.