Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Silly EA82T coolant problems

Hey, I'm new to all this and have a couple issues I couldn't find good answers to anywhere else. I picked up an '86 GL-10 4x4 Turbo wagon a couple weeks ago. Damn near perfect cosmetic shape and all the mechanical stuff seemed solid enough. The price was right for me at $1100. The car has 160k on the body and roughly 60k on a new (not rebuilt) EA82T. I've got a couple questions about a specific ailment and a few more general ones.

1. I was careful to say coolANT problems, not coolING problems. The car runs cool all the time. When it's started with a COLD engine, I get several drops of antifreeze on the ground. I can't pinpoint the source, but they seem to come from roughly the front left side of the engine. Most of it seems to hit the exhaust or the front skid plate before making its way to the ground. Once the engine warms up, the leak stops completely but whatever coolant is left sitting around on metal (presumably the exhaust, or engine, I dunno) burns off and is extremely obnoxious (and embarassing in traffic!) for a minute or so. Once that's done everything is fine as long as the engine stays even kind of warm. I'd think a bad head or gasket would explain all this, except I don't smell ANY coolant in the exhaust, and I haven't lost any appreciable amount of coolant yet. I guess it doesn't take much to steam up on hot metal. Any other guesses?

2. The coolant overflow tank is always at a more-or-less correct level. I tried to add a bit of pepper to the radiator

and noticed the water stays completely up to the cap all the time. I've never had to do anything to the radiators in any of my cars, but do recall that the water never stayed completely up to the top of the cap when the car was off. Is that normal, or is it blocked somewhere? I've run the car for hours at a time and it always stays very cool, so obviously it's still getting water.