Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey guys I need some help.

I cross threaded one of the tabs on my torque converter the last time I put my tranny back on. Because it wasn’t in a position where I could tape it out and put a helicoil in (without pulling the tranny again) I had to just run a M8 x 1.25 tap right through it which I think just chopped off the top of the peaks of each thread.. Now I have the tranny out again I want to fix that hole.

I’ve never done this before, but I think its just a matter of tapping the hole out to the bigger size and then threading the helicoil in. Do I need to drill out the hole at all or can I just start tapping with the larger tap since there are still threads there.

Do I just use a tap one size up?

Edited by shortskoolbus

[...]Do I need to drill out the hole at all or can I just start tapping with the larger tap since there are still threads there.[...]

There are specifications for hole size versus tap size that should be followed. It's very risky to use a tap on any hole that's undersized -- the tap can jam, sometimes ruining the threads or even breaking in the process of freeing it. As a general rule, the correct size hole, correct lubrication (varies with material being tapped), and frequently backing out the tap to clear chips tends to lead to a successful job.

As to a HeliCoil, I'd suggest relying on their specific instructions.

I did a couple heli-coils for the first time two weeks ago.

Pretty straight forward. Use the drill bit size called for, drill out the hole, tap it with the tap, screw the helicoil in and use the little tool to break of the tab end so the screw can go all the way through if need be and you are ready to tighten it back up.

You can search youtube under helicoil and see a couple demonstrations on how it works. Really explains it better than the crappy directions on the helicoil box and shows how easy it is.

Matt

yeah it's fairly straight forward and a torque converter should be really simple.