Ultimate Subaru Message Board

88 GL Wont Start

The pump shouldn't be cycling like that. It should only do it once. It sounds like the test plugs are connected together under the dash. They should only be connected when doing some troubleshooting.

See if the car will start using some starter fluid. If that doesn't help check the ignition syystem out and make sure you have spark to the plugs.

Hello Guys..

First of all, I apologize that I did not go to the New Member section and post a hello> I apologize!!!!

This is the third subaru in the family so i have some experience with them. First GL sedan was great till my brother crashed it. We replaced it with an 88 4wd 5 speed wagon and he still drives that (it survived a crash as well)

The new symtoms are below!

:grin:

After finally using my brain and following my newly purchased manual and great help from MikeS

I have discovered that when i crank the engine with distributor cap off the shaft DOES NOT rotate.

Should be bad timing belt Right???

Good Morning Message Board

So i have finally replaced the timing belt.

I now have spark and i can smell the fuel. She still wont fire over. Wondering if its getting too much fuel..

Whats a DUH thing i could have not connected when i put it all together to prevent a start? I have spark out of plugs when cranking, can smell fuel and pump appears to be working,

Any thoughts?

email me please kmcarey2@comcast.net (goes to my blackberry)

THanks!:banana:

You got the cam timing wrong or you need to re-time the distributor.

Belts should be installed using the VALVE timing marks on the flywheel - you put the mark on the drivers side cam straight up, and the mark on the passenger side cam straight down. Install both belts.