Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Stacking OEM lift blocks?

uncle.stosh

New guy here and new to Subarus.

I just picked up a 91 AWD Wagon for $250 and I am about to put Outback struts on it. I picked them up yesterday for $52 complete.

I know you guys are going to say that it's a bad idea, but was wondering just how bad of an idea it is and why. I'm eventually going to make some nice 2-3 inch spacers for my body lift, but in the mean time I'd like to run two sets of factory Outback spacers.

Right now I'm just looking to get it a little higher for tire clearance and looks. There aren't any plans to really wheel it at the moment.

Any comments or suggestions as to why this wouldn't work? Obviously I'll get some good grade 8 bolts and perhaps even tack the two blocks together if necessary.

Seems like I can't find too much info on lifting these other than this board, and I'd much rather make my own lift as opposed to buying it from someone else. I've been a machinist and fabricator most of my life.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by uncle.stosh

Thanks for the quick response.

Instead of buying the spacers for the struts, I was going to get two sets of top hats and weld a piece of pipe in between them to make my own spacers.

I can get the top hats for next to nothing.

If I do this, would they need to be welded together so that they are parallel? I seem to remember reading somewhere that it would be better to weld them at a slight angle to help correct camber?

Any thoughts?

It's not that I'm too cheap to buy a lift kit, it's just that I get much more satisfaction out of building things myself. Plus the fact that I don't want to put a ton of money into this toy either.

I'm all for making my own stuff!!! Sounds like a cool idea to me. Yes you are supposed to have a 15* angle on it so the camber isn't that bad. But I am running blocks without that and it's fine, but you will see a little more tire wear in the long run. We would all love pics of the project as well!!!