Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Rewiring fog lights independent of headlights - 98 Legacy OB

Guest LegacyOutback98

I would like to rewire the fog lights on my 98 Legacy Outback so that they are independent of the headlights (but still controlled by ignition switch). Would like to use them as DRL's. Any help would be appreciated!

Guest Legacy777

What sort of wiring experience do you have?

If you have a decent knowledge of wiring and know you're way around the car, it shouldn't be to bad.

If not, it'd be a little difficult explaining things.

Guest LegacyOutback98

Josh - I'm an electronics engineer, so have a very good understanding of wiring diagrams and systems, Have done some minor rewiring on other cars. I just found and downloaded the Legacy wiring diagram file from the Repair Manual page, so most likely I could now figure it out myself, but how-to from someone like yourself - who knows the car - would save me a LOT of time.

Thanks in advance!

Jerry

Guest Legacy777

Well in that case I can probably explain a way to do it, and you'll understand :)

I did a similar setup with my driving lights. I didn't follow the manufacture's install guide. I had originally hooked them straight up to a 12v constant source, so i could turn them on any time I want. Well, I've drained the battery several times by forgetting to turn them off. So I decided to rewire them. It took a little more creativity because I had already modified the circuit.