Ultimate Subaru Message Board

92 Loyale Wgn EA82 Coolant Loss Problem

First, I want to say a big thank you to everyone here that takes the time to post their knowledge on this forum.  It is so rare to find a forum with a useful knowledge base, but I found one here.

I bought a 92 Loyale Wagon 5 spd 4WD about the end of July 2013 from a used car dealer.  About 225,000 miles.  Probably paid way too much for it...  In any case, it was exactly what I was looking for, it just needed a little bit of work  ;) .  I knew the clutch needed replacing when I test drove it, but thought to myself that shouldn't be too hard, I've replaced dozens and dozens of clutches in my former life (16 years) as a professional mechanic.  Little did I know...

I joined USMB the same day I brought home the Loyale and started reading everything I could find out about the clutch job.  I have never done a Subaru or a 4WD clutch before, but it's just a few more pieces to remove and replace, right?  Thanks to the videos that Miles Fox has posted on YouTube, I thought I was ready to go.

I live in an apartment building, no place to work on a car, they frown when I lift the hood to check the oil in my wife's Suzuki.  I found  a gravel pit about 30 miles away out in the woods that I can use to work on the car.  No power tools, no shelter, no lift, no engine hoist.  This is the Pacific Northwest, where it rains every other day, and I drive the car daily to work, so my opportunities to work on the car are very limited.