Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Cats failing, info on carb tune and affects on combustion?

I'm splitting my last post about the CEL's and O2 sensors to focus on this:

-are there tell-tale signs of an improperly tuned carburetor?

-wouldn't it technically reak havoc on the catalytic converters over time?

~I'm going to scour the forum for information on the topic, however at the moment my home internet is down.

~I'm limited to my phone, unless I hit some FREE wifi (yeah Dunkin.. haha),

but reading the posts and pms is doable.

What do y'all think?

My front cat is overheating, possibly due to a failed O2 sensor. The rear cat either has a rattling guard, or from what I could tell a crumbling infrastructure. Engine seems weak on power.

:headbang: Any ideas, thought, info, comments would be greaat!

-Sam

I'm no expert, but if your rear cat is plugged or partially plugged, perhaps heat is being trapped in the first cat. 

As for an out of tune carb, there could be a few different symptoms, depending on whether it's running lean or rich. Reading the color and condition of the spark plugs can be a good indicator. Black and wet can mean rich, white or gray can be lean. 

Of course that's just the tip of the ice berg. Others with more knowledge and experience will weigh in. Don't be discouraged; you'll get it goin'!

John

Sounds like your front cat is plugged or your running lean, overheating is a sure sign of both. I've never heard of an out of tune carb killing a cat, but what usually does is things like carb cleaner or shooting brakeleen down the intake.

Have you used carbcleaner on it?

Are you running it lean right now?

Do you have any running issues like an idle that stumbles?

What do your spark plugs look like?

--What does your exhaust smell like? --

a metalic, burning, rotten egg smell is typical of a dead cat

Do you need to pass emmisions?