Ultimate Subaru Message Board

post 04 subarus are Junk...buyers beware

I have been a mechanic for 25+ years first as a mainly VW mechanic and now and a specializing in Subarus for the past 14.  I don't get to post here as much as i would like to but this group has been super great over the years. I am writing this to "get the word out" that any Subaru made after 2004 has so many potential expensive failures that I no longer recommend these models as "reliable" vehicles.  It seems that Subaru has decided to spend their money on the flashy adds which they pay for buy putting cheaper, inferior, non japanese defective parts on the cars.

-I have seen engines under 100k throw rods:(normal oil level, no hard driving, regular oil changes). RING FAILURE

-under 100k A/C compressor failures.  Pre 2004 i have only replaced 2 compressors since i started working on them

-98k AVCS failure that has caused the engines to burn up valves.

-120k-150k turbo failures ( not driven hard) that destroy the engine with shrapnel.

-Head Gasket Issue never fixed and still seeping/failing

-tons of window motor failures. I have maybe replaced 1 motor in 14 years in the 1990-2004 models

-Cheaper ( non serviceable) starter put on all vehicles. previously these were only installed on the foresters and imprezas

-early power steering pump failures. The earlier models pumps usually made it to 140-160 before leaking.  These new models are failing around 120k

-plastic intake manifolds. When VW started using plastic parts in the the 90's it was the last straw for me and I stopped working on them.