Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Smoking on start up 95 svx

Most likely valve seals. My 97 SVX does the same thing, just not very bad. In nearly 1k miles I have needed to add no oil. Seals dry out from sitting, figure 130k miles in 22 years. There is a decent amount of sitting involved in that time. If it isn't fouling plugs are using excess oil I wouldn't worry too much about it. 

Thanks for your reply it goes thru a qrt in a tank of gas depending on how many stops I make just wanted to see if it was common to the engine I've had a few cars that did the same and it never caused them any problems it just got worse as the miles piled on I'm just new to the boxer motor I'm really enjoying the car have u driven yours in the snow I'm concerned about my awd because I can get the front tires to spin I was under the impression that it's supposed to put more power to the rear when that happens or do the back wheels need to slip for this to happen I have so many questions lol I'll try to keep them at a minimum thanks G

A quart per tank of gas is not normal.

A leak down test may reveal where it’s going - valves or piston rings. Someone well versed in subarus may know if that large amount of oil is one or the other.

How many miles have you driven it? I wonder if you could get real lucky and consumption will decrease as you drive it - stuck Rings?

Replace the PCV valve.

Yes the AWD should work well and it’ll be as good in the snow as the tires that are on it. If you just bought it with these issues then that usually doesn’t mean it has awesome tires on it and they could suck in the snow regardless of 4WD.

Check that the rear driveshaft is attached.

Is the FWD light on?

Does the FWD light work?

Is a fuse installed in the FWD holder?

Does the AT light work?

Does it blink 16 times at start up?

Edited by idosubaru

Yeah the rears do need to slip first (have a different relative speed to the “front”), but rear tires should essentially kick in quick.