Ultimate Subaru Message Board

First time Subaru owner with $300 '95 Legacy

I am new to the Subaru Universe.  Recently acquired '95 Legacy for $300 that needed some pulleys and belts.  Easy DIY...totally worth it!  Possible future owner of '92 SVX, this weekend...may get for less than $500.  

• Like 1

95 legacy's - if it's never been overheated and reasonable oil changes those will run 300,000 miles rather easily, realiably, and inexpensively.   

new timing belt and timing pulleys, plugs, wires, cheap $8 ebay knock sensor (most common engine sensor failure - it has either already failed or will), subaru has "new" alternators for $75 if you're into long term/distance reliability. 

good luck!

The Legacy is at 270,000 presently!  I did a full timing kit and H2O pump.   Running and driving like a champ...besides rear wheel bearing "whoomp whoomp whoomp"  Thanks for the pointers.  I will certainly utilize the help.

Congrats and welcome. Congrats on finding a $300 beater AND it being the first edition 2.2 ! You seem to be straight on target. Good man , you fit in well here.

Curious - Which timing kit did you buy ? Or make up from various ? What brand were the pulleys and pump ? It’s a topic often discussed with manufacturers we once loved now selling Chinese garbage. Thanks for any input.

The board is fading out but hopefully there’ll always be a presence here and good people. Enjoy !

Thank you kind sir!  I bought a DAYCO brand kit, keeping it on the cheap.  The pump is from Thailand...<_<.  Oh well.  The car has 270,000mls.  Hoping to get it to 300 with least amount spent.  Hopefully I can score the '92 SVX today for less than $500 and see what it has left in it.

15 hours ago, moosens said:

Congrats and welcome. Congrats on finding a $300 beater AND it being the first edition 2.2 ! You seem to be straight on target. Good man , you fit in well here.