Sign in to follow this  
bratboy1

EJ22 wiring harness question

Hello everyone! 

I am a newbie when it comes to this so I just wanted to clarify before I do something dumb lol! I am swapping a '91 Legacy EJ22 engine and 5 speed in my '82 brat. I have the wiring harness stripped of the tape and shielding. 

For reducing the harness, am I just finding stuff I don't need and cutting off the connector, then taking the wires and following them back as far as possible and cutting them off? I just want to be sure before I do anything drastic. Also, I can run two different harnesses, the preexisting one in the brat in addition to the new one correct? With the EJ22 harness I wasn't planning on having the lights and stuff included since I have them already hooked up on the old harness.

Thanks for the help! I appreciate it!

Cheers

Basically. I find and identify every wire in the diagrams before I decide what to do with it. If it's not needed, I cut as much of it out as I can (I usually leave about 3", just in case I made a mistake). If it will be needed but not the connector, I leave as much as possible, and coil it up and mark it with masking tape.

Yes, the EA81 harness is extremely simple by comparison, so just leave it as-is and splice in where you need to. There will be a half a dozen wires or so that are made redundant, but no big deal. Easiest to leave it all there to control body circuits (lights, dash, etc.).

• Thanks 1

10 hours ago, Numbchux said:

Basically. I find and identify every wire in the diagrams before I decide what to do with it. If it's not needed, I cut as much of it out as I can (I usually leave about 3", just in case I made a mistake). If it will be needed but not the connector, I leave as much as possible, and coil it up and mark it with masking tape.