Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Leaky master cylinder

1981 Brat GL, rear reservoir but not front of the master cylinder completely drains out. Master cylinder says F (assume Front brakes) under the rear reservoir and R under the front reservoir (assume rear brakes), Mechanic in December said Rear wheel cylinders were leaking and should be replaced (they put on new pads and flushed brake fluid from entire system)

Ideas? Maybe flushing caused the master to leak? I have spare NOS Master cylinder plus front caliper rebuild kits and new rear wheel cylinder. What to try first? Also recently welded some rusty bits (maybe a brake line got damaged during the welding but did use welding blankets to cover nearby areas). 

Any suggestions welcome as right now not driveable. 

I still need to confirm that the master is where the leak is. I guess just refill with fluid and stomp on the brakes a few times and look for fluid? I have never worked on the brakes before myself-always had a mechanic do these but trying to restore this thing on a budget. 

11 hours ago, TXJayhawk said:

I still need to confirm that the master is where the leak is. I guess just refill with fluid and stomp on the brakes a few times and look for fluid? I have never worked on the brakes before myself-always had a mechanic do these but trying to restore this thing on a budget. 

If you're draining the master cylinder - that's a sizable leak.  First step is to simply go look under the vehicle for signs of fluid leaking. 

The obvious starting point may be what the mechanic said - rear wheel cylinders.  He could have just been guessing, maybe he didn't pull the covers, I don't know - you'll want to confirm, but that's the first place to start.