Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Let the Brat project begin....again!

Greetings Subaru enthusiasts. I have been checking in on this site on and off since 2003. My intention has been to resurrect my 1984 Brat, which I purchased new. It currently sits under several layers of car covers and I am determined, now that I am retired, to peel these off and start the process of breathing new life into this car. Its has seen many exploits as I had some hobbies that it was especially well suited for...and I intend to start pursuing some of these again as well. I have not been idle altogether as I have snatched up and stockpiled parts and components through the years for this project. I could still use some parts, doors in particular, and lot's of advice (already found lot's of good info on this board). I'm located in NY on Long Island but will travel to get stuff if it's within reason and worth the trip. Look forward to hearing from you. 

Across the little pond from you in Bridgeport CT. Good luck in your retirement and with your project Brat. 

Whatever I find that may help you I’ll gladly contribute. Currently I am cleaning house of 1970-79 parts. Unfortunately for you and the other later Subaru owners I already purged most of my later parts for 1980-84 and 1985-94. But some stuff still pops up now and then. Come warm weather I’ll be back at it. 

As for hobbies to go with the Brat , for me it was archery and before that firearm deer hunting. Whatever your hobbies I hope the Brat shows itself well someday for you.

My concern from reading your post is what the covers may have done to inhibit rust. Best wishes on that account. 

My storage is in Milford just off I-95 , maybe we’ll meet up there this spring. 

I know I have a gen 2 front “A” bar. 

Enjoy ! 
Paul