Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hey everyone, im new to the Subaru community and wanted some advice.
I've got a 99 outback that was my fathers before he passed away, and i want to turn it into a tough and reliable off road camper.
im willing to put money into it over the years and it going to be my daily driver here for a while.
once we are past the head gasket issues what can i do to make sure this thing is it excellent mechanical condition for road trips and camping i dont want to get stuck on a mountain because of engine trouble.
aside from the engine what other upgrades can i make to make this thing a tank off road? i want to be able to keep up with my buddy's jeep wrangler, i know i cant go everywhere he can go when he has a 3.5" lift with 37 inch tires.
but i want to go as far as i can on a reasonable lift like 1.5-2.5" that wont make the car underpowered because of the extra weight, nor make the axels and joints more prone to breaking.
can i upgrade the axels and joints? should i? what should i upgrade it to?
this thing is going to be a dedicated daily driver and camper so i want to cover any potential failure points before they fail and beef them up.
any suggestions or people to call other forums i should post on or whatever you think will help.

245200345_4545988505444307_2220416962190480930_n.jpg

15 hours ago, faunjoustino said:

once we are past the head gasket issues what can i do to make sure this thing is it excellent mechanical condition for road trips and camping i dont want to get stuck on a mountain because of engine trouble.

i am assuming by this comment that it has a current headgasket issue?

If yes, making sure that job is done right is job number 1. There is a specific gasket recommended for this job.. part number ends in 770, i think... a search should turn that up.. look for info from user General Disorder...