Ultimate Subaru Message Board

(Crazy Idea thread) What'll happen if...

fbh

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm definately gonna try it :D pick-a-part down the road's got a ton of EA82 subies, can grab a second carb from there, and I have a mate who might be able to fab me a whole new intake manifold for twin carbies.

so it's going to sound better - how about power and fuel economy? ballpark figures? 90 horse / 28mpg roughly atm.

Just a quick thought right now, if I don't want the wee pipes of coolant flowing all over the place, I could just take the chokes off?

Well as you can see from my miniscule amount of posts - im no subaru expert but we ran twin weber cars on our 74' MGB and on my brothers Ford Capri and it made quite a difference in low end pick up.

Youre on your own as far as gas mileage goes tho - it went downhill quite a bit for us. :-\

KELTIK

I have a dual carb EA81 (its got different heads then a normal EA81, just for better flow, there more like EA82 design) fuel usage is REDICULUS. Power is WICKED, compared to..stock...

The EA81 dual carb still uses a manifold. But you could fab up the carbs direct to the heads. Alfa 33's with the flat four in them have this same setup. check out this site http://www.hbpsystemsplc.co.uk/engine.htm and this one http://alfasud.alfisti.net/asus18d.html

just another brat

www.offroadingsubarus.com

Oh, if your not using a manifold you are going to want the carbs running togther perfectly. Other wise you might start ripping your engine apart. I dunno for sure tho.

EDIT: AND...... you will have some fun with the all the pipes and EGR stuff that go onto the manifold. Like all those vacuum leads and stuff.. But it would be a pretty sweet subie. I haven't seen any body do this before, but I have thought of it myself

you mean running together perfectly as in throttle position etc?