Ultimate Subaru Message Board

timing belt, water pump, & cam Q's [2.5L SOHC]

Hello, I have some questions about changing timing belt and water pump (this is my first time doing work of this magnitude)

• 2000 Subaru Outback 2.5L SOHC 4cyl gas non-turbo
  • Crank is set at #1 TDC (compression stroke)

Engine layout is (according to OEM manual):

#3 #4

RH LH

#1 #2

radiator

The story so far: In the process of removing the timing belt, the LH cam rolled backwards about 30 degrees, so I rolled it forward back to where it was.

Then, I had to remove the LH cam pulley to replace the water pump, and in the process of doing that, the cam rolled forward about 30 degrees.

I'm trying to determine if I might have damaged any valves from the LH cam moving. Someone told me that when #1 is at TDC on compression stroke, that #2 is at TDC on the exhaust stroke, which has me worried, as in did the valves plow into the #2 piston when the cam rolled? [it is my understanding from EndWrench.com that on the 2.5L engines, the valves can hit the pistons; is that true?]

When I install the new timing belt, I'll have to get that cam back to its original position, so should I turn it forward about 270 degrees (maybe I can't roll it forward if any valves touch #2 piston) to get back to the original position or is it OK to roll it backard?

I didn't see anthing in the service manual about being careful not to roll the cam when removing the cam pulley bolt or when removing the timing belt, so I'm _hoping_ that no damage was done (i.e. neither #2 nor #4 are near TDC and/or the valves can't interfere with the pistons). I mean, the OEM manual seems to be pretty careful to point out in big bold print every little thing that could possibly cause damage. EndWrench clearly says the cams must be locked on the DOHC version when removing the timing belt.