Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Hi- Need Some Help for My Dad

Hi everyone!

I'm brand new, and have to be completely honest here. I'm a moderator of a top BMW forum (unofficialbmw.com), and with my 1985 325e, I'm a great mechanic.

However, with my Dad's 1998 Forester, I'm lost because:

1. My Dad's 84 and knows nothing about his car other than it drives great...
  2. I'm in Colorado, Vail actually, and he and his car are in the Hamptons in New York...
  3. I have no access to the car 2000 miles away.

Therefore, I'm going to ask what will appear to be stupid questions, and may not understand the answers completely, or may have to wait a few hours until I contact him to respond to your suggestions. I'm hoping you'll all be patient with me cause my Dad's a VERY cool guy, and I'm just trying to make things easier for him. Also, he simply LOVES his Subie...

About the car:

1998 Alpine White Forester

Immaculate condition

72K miles

Very Smooth and reliable

His car's always serviced by Subaru (I would change that if I were there ;) )

The current problem... His f--king Check Engine light!!!

It comes on for a day or two, then it goes out. Sometimes it'll stay off for a week, 5 days etc. Then, all of a sudden, it comes back on again and stays on for a day or two, then goes out.

He had it checked by Subaru and they said, "Everything's fine, just ignore it!"

My 84 year old cool Dad said... "They must be kidding! How can you ignore a bright yellow Check Engine light at my age!"

So, I'm throwing myself at your mercy to try to determine some conditions that could throw this light on for no reason at all!!!

Help and thanks in advance....

Thanks!

Wouldn't Subaru have read the same codes when checking the problem? Doesn't matter though...

There's an Autozone 18 miles from him which he can go to and check.

He told me they checked the gas cap, and I don't know if they checked the wires, but the car's running great and he reports no weird behavior other than the light!