Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Ea81T Brat to a Ea82T + 5spd D/R

Jellef

Hi all,

This is my first post! This fourm is really a great service to us subaru lovers. Well, I have recently purchased an 84 turbo brat (only 113k miles on it!!!) in pretty good shape for a killer price and i am a little disapointed with the power it puts out. I am considering a few options for swaps.

#1 Keep the ea81T and swap out the 3AT and put in a 5spd DR

#2 Drop the Ea81T an put in an Ea82T

#3 Drop in an EJ (prefirably the EJ20T)

Is there anyway to get more power out of my ea81T safely and relitivly cheaply?

I am new to subaru modding and i want to keep it relitivly simple. Please let me know what will be the greatest benifit to ease of project ratio. Thanks!!!

Start with #1. The 3AT is notorious for eating power.

If that's not enough - carefully donate the EA81T to someone that will love it, and drop in an EJ22. The EJ20T is nice, but you'll end up with so much power you will have to upgrade suspension, brakes and a whole host of other stuff. You'll likely break the 5 spd D/R with over 200 HP, and so you would want the EJ AWD tranny - axle issues (custom), etc, etc. Plus the EJ22 is more common, cheaper, simpler to wire and route exhaust for. 135 HP is more than enough to feel very quick in a Brat.

GD

Start with #1. The 3AT is notorious for eating power.

If that's not enough - carefully donate the EA81T to someone that will love it, and drop in an EJ22. The EJ20T is nice, but you'll end up with so much power you will have to upgrade suspension, brakes and a whole host of other stuff. You'll likely break the 5 spd D/R with over 200 HP, and so you would want the EJ AWD tranny - axle issues (custom), etc, etc. Plus the EJ22 is more common, cheaper, simpler to wire and route exhaust for. 135 HP is more than enough to feel very quick in a Brat.

GD