Ultimate Subaru Message Board

Newb question about EJ20T exhaust manifolds

Hey everyone. I have a possibly stupid question about the exhaust manifolds on the EJ20Ts that is going to make me sound like a complete newb, but still I must ask. As some of you know, I own a 95 WRX wagon and a 02 WRX wagon. Well, I just had an epiphany and was wondering if the aftermarket exhaust manifolds offered for the 02 WRX would also fit the 95 WRX? Maybe I'm being nieve about this, but I figured that an EJ20T is an EJ20T no matter what the year, but I just wanted to know since I didn't really get far into modding my 02. If anyone can shed some light on this, I'd greatly appreciate it and so would my pocketbook.

Patrick

I would say yes. The thing that may differ is the up-pipe and how it mounts to the turbo. From an FAQ on nasioc:

Q: "I'm doing an EJ20 swap, which exhaust should I use?"

A: Until proven otherwise, the exhaust from a standard WRX from 1993-2004 has remained relatively unchanged. This means that if you are performing a swap from an Impreza chassis to an Impreza chassis, you can use any complete WRX exhaust. If you are swapping from an Impreza chassis to a Legacy chassis, then the exhaust must be lengthened to accomodate the longer chassis.