Ultimate Subaru Message Board

So I decided to take my mom's 2001 Subaru Outback to a local soobie dealer for diagnostics, as per my post from yesterday, the car when cold has no power and is on the verge of shutting off but once warmed up it runs fine, no CEL flashing or stored codes, some board members suggested that it was perhaps the coolant sensor.

So I get a call from the soobie dealer and he tells me that among other things that I need an Oxygen Sensor and reprogram of the ECM.

Now I am no mechanic by any means but I am knowledgeable enough about cars, and personally I have no idea how an ECM would need reprogramming and why I would be told that I need a oxygen sensor if no CEL is popping on?

Any thoughts? Also I was told that I need a multifunction switch ($302 with labor), wtf is this thing?

Temperature related issues typically tend to be the coolant temp sensor. They run about $20 from one of the online subaru dealers.

Not sure about those other things the dealer mentioned. I'd request they show you a TSB about the reprogramming, and why the O2 sensor needs to be replaced.

and why I would be told that I need a oxygen sensor if no CEL is popping on?

Like most other sensors, the oxygen sensor can be bad and still not throw a code. Specifically for the O2 sensor, they get "slow" before going totally bad. They feed wrong data to the ECM, but the data is still within normal range. No way for the ECM to know it is bad unless you have redundant sensors with voting software in the ECM. Most people won't pay for that in a car (airplanes, maybe).

No CEL does not mean no problems. But you should ask how they diagnosed the sensor and everything else.

It's possible that the O2 sensor needs replacement at 123k but they usually throw a CEL if they are that bad. I had one that would clear its CEL after a day or so and not show up again for months. The car ran fine and unless your MPG has dropped it's most likely still functioning.