Ultimate Subaru Message Board

approx size of boxer engines - pls help

asherpat

Hi,

i am new to this forum. i am an amateur car designer. A project i am working-on now (as a hobby) is a sports car with a boxer engine. the limitations i have is to package the engine and gearbox in a very tight "box". therefore, I want to see if Subaru flat-four turbo or H-6 and its gearbox (no-need in front/rear diff, the design is rear wheel drive) can be packaged in a tight space.

Especially of importance is the height of such engines or their blocks.

I wud therefore appreciate greatly if someone can, even if approximately tell me the physical dimensions (also the weight, if possible) of Subaru's most powerful engines and gearbox (guess there are two, the H-4 Turbos and H-6). Easier still perhaps the question shud be: what is the minimal rectangular box that one can fit Subaru most powerful engines.

many tks for your help.

Don't have dimenions handy. Someone on here has to though. They are awfully small engines as far as height and length, but are pretty wide. Consider that the back of the engine is actually forward of the center of the front wheels on a subaru and you can see how short they are. Of course the H6 is going to be a little longer...

On the differential, the front diff on a subaru is in the transmission, so you can't take it out. But you can just put it in 4wd mode and not hook anything up to the front axle stubs. Offroaders do this all the time if they put in a divorced transfer case and nissan front diff.

Edit: that is is you have a fwd/4wd tranny from the EA cars (1989 and earlier). The EJ ones are AWD so you can't take the front axles out. But why not have an AWD sports car. Or you could use an EA tranny with an EJ engine with the KEP adaptor.

w = 830

h = 600

l = 710

l2 = 430