Ultimate Subaru Message Board

New to USMB!

Hello everyone!

My name is Cory and I am new to this board, but not new to Subaru. I am usually on RS25.com, but I have found a lot of good info on this site.

I purchased a 1997 Impreza Brighton ~3 years ago. My previous car was a 1985 300zx Turbo... which I crashed. :-\

I financed the car and just paid it off last month for a grand total of $5,000... :eek:

I started with the knowledge that AWD was cool and that Subaru had perfected the art... for a decent price. My original goal was to swap out the EJ18S for a JDM EJ20G but when I researched the specifics of such a swap, I realized that is was out of my league... I'm now 22, live in a apartment, and have very limited tools and only self taught knowledge.

I finally chose a reasonable path and bought an EJ25D from a 1998 Impreza 2.5RS with 128,xxx miles and a slightly cracked headgasket. I sat on the engine for over a year waiting for my EJ18 to die before I swapped. The EJ18 eventually died, 300 miles from home, in a prison town with the primary language being Spanish. A good friend towed me home, and let me store my car and swap the engine in his driveway.

This is my first engine swap and head gasket job. I have had my "live and learn" experiences with it, but I am coming into the final stretch. The car started yesterday, but with broken intake manifold gaskets it shot to 3k RPM and there was a terrible grinding noise coming from the clutch. The clutch issue was resovled here:

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/showthread.php?t=120724

I am planning on getting the engine back in the car, running correctly, then I am going to see about installing the Venom VCN-2000 Nitrous kit, and Eibach Pro Lowering kit...

I will post pics when I figure out how. Is it a matter of post count or is it just not possible with this forum setup?

-Cory

I know I'm not the only one going to say this, but be careful with "upgrading" your engine.